top of page

Kalpee puts acoustic twist on Feel Good Playlist Vol.1 EP

Kalpee is kickstarting the new year with his uplifting, acoustic version of his Feel Good Playlist Vol.1 EP.

Kalpee turns his glorious, five-track Feel Good Playlist Vol.1 EP into an intimate, stripped-back soundscape with his captivating, distinctive vocal resonating over his trusted electric guitar.

Inspired by his Caribbean roots, the project fuses reggae and calypso into a contemporary R&B, pop sound.

He says: “Five years ago, I started learning how to play guitar acoustically from watching YouTube videos, which really impacted my songwriting so much; opening up new avenues for melodies with each chord progression that I taught myself. Three years later the wonderful team at Gibson Guitar welcomed me into the Gibson family and introduced me to electric and my sound, songwriting and production skills grew once more.”

“I’ve always been a huge fan of the simplicity of just guitar and vocals which is how most of my songwriting begins, and so being able to deliver a stripped-back version of the EP was all about grassroots for me and being able to showcase the tracks in their most honest form.”

The original EP was released in October 2020 and includes the sun-soaked single ‘Gimme De Ting’ featuring platinum recording superstar Stefflon Don.

Co-written and produced by Kalpee and The Anmls (The Weeknd, Future, BANKS, Belly, D.R.A.M, French Montana, Meek Mill) - the track received radio support from BBC 1Xtra’s DJ Target and DJ Ace as well as Capital 1Xtra’s Ras Kwame.

In addition, Feel Good Playlist Vol. 1 EP comprises of the enthralling ‘Put A Record On’ - that pays homage to Bob Marley’s ‘Three Little Birds’; moving ‘Climb’ featuring fellow Trinbagonians Freetown Collective; laidback ‘Water Flowing’; and the mesmerising ‘Runaway’.

Kalpee worked with an elite lineup of Grammy Award producers and writers including Carla Marie Williams (Beyonce, Britney Spears, Rudimental, Sean Paul), Yei Gonzales (Diplo, Cardi B, Dj Khaled) and Santiago Rodriguez (Little Mix, Pit Bull, Akon).

Kalpee is also sharing the epic official video for ‘Climb’ both available now on FVP Records via Absolute Label Services.

Directed by long-time friend and collaborator Azriel Bahadoor, the ‘Climb’ official video was shot in Trinidad and Tobago.

Featuring fellow Trinbagonians Freetown Collective - ‘Climb’ was the first song Kalpee wrote after his near-death car accident in September 2019. Writing and producing the track helped him find relief from the trauma.

The equally poignant ‘Climb’ video shows snippets of footage from it. Kalpee was unaware at the time of the accident that the cameras were still recording.

The video touches upon Freetown Collective’s lead singers, activist Muhammad’s involvement in the BLM movement and trained lawyer turned full-time artist Lou’s experience with his diagnosed mental health challenges.

All three stories intertwine, and their raw, relatable emotions develop throughout the moving visual.

On discovering the footage of the accident, Kalpee explains: “I was in two minds whether to release it or not, but as it was so important to all of us that the visual to ‘Climb’ be as honest as the lyrics that we wrote, then I believe it was captured to be seen. I hope the video brings those that watch its strength and hope to overcome their darkest days.”

Kalpee has garnered accolades from EARMILK, Official Charts, 1883 Magazine, CLASH, Complex UK, Hunger TV, Ladygunn, GRM Daily, Bonafide Magazine and Guap Magazine.

He teamed up with BooHooMAN on a series of ‘Feelgood Friday’ live sessions which ran online in December 2020. Additionally, Kalpee co-hosted and performed for Unlock Virtual Festival last year; the charitable online event teamed up with various musicians, influencers and comedians to raise donations for The Prince’s Trust.

The deft musician, songwriter, producer and creative will be sharing more exciting new music which pins him at the forefront of the growing resurgence of Island Pop and affirming his position as an artist to watch in 2021.


  1. Gimme De Ting

  2. Climb

  3. Runaway

  4. Put A Record On

  5. Water Flowing

1 view0 comments


bottom of page